*click on photos to enlarge

Near Valentine, Arizona, rocky hills and towering mesas press in on both sides of Route 66. Nestled in this stunning landscape is an imposing time capsule from a very controversial period in our nations history.

Construction of the Truxton Canyon Indian School began in late 1899 with the manufacture of bricks as part of the Industrial Arts program for Hualapai students. The first buildings completed were the student dormitory and teacherage.

A multitude of problems plagued the construction project but it was shipping issues that led to the longest delays. As a result the school was not fully operational until 1903, two full years after the scheduled date for opening.

The ideal behind the school and similar programs was noble in concept, the assimilation of native Americans into mainstream society. Sadly, the schools were run in an almost military like manner with little concern for the students cultural background which prevented any familiarity with this type of disciplined, rigidly structured lifestyle.

A 1903 “Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs” noted, “All Indian Schools are industrial training institutions. The central thought is work as a preparation for life. The day, therefore, is divided so that one half of the pupils are for three hours in the academical classes acquiring the knowledge of English letters, history, geography, arithmetic, etc., usually taught in the public schools of the white people; the other half of the day is devoted to industrial pursuits adapted tot he age and sex of the pupils.”
The Indian Schools were designed to break students mentally and physically out of the tradition lifestyle mode and separate them from the teachings of the elders in the tribe. The Truxton Canyon school was no exception.

Every aspect of the campus presented a radical and shocking departure from the traditional Hualapai lifestyle. As an example the massive solidity of the brick structures were in stark contrast to the dome shaped brush and mud wikieup.

Meals were prepared in a kitchen not over an open fire. Lessons were learned from teachers, not the elders of the tribe. Food was eaten from china rather than woven baskets and pottery.

Depression, the strange surroundings and new foods to adjust to as well as exposure to a variety of never before encountered diseases took their toll. The worst of these was the Spanish influenza that claimed twenty two lives in 1919.

By the early 1930s, with Route 66 and the railroad vying for space with the expanded campus in the narrow canyon, the school had assumed the appearance of a busy little farming community. The Indian Reorganization Act of 1934 enable the Hualapai to form a form of self government on the reservation that included assuming responsibility for the education of tribal children. The Truxton Canyon Indian School closed in 1937.

In 1960 the dorm was razed and the bricks used for construction of the Mohave Museum of History and Arts in Kingman. Two brick structures remain form the school campus, the school and the Indian Office Building.
A scattering of cottages that once housed faculty and staff now house employees of the Truxton Canyon Indian Agency with offices on the old campus.
Since its closure the imposing red brick school building has served a variety of purposes. Local dances were held here as were large meetings.
Today the school is in limbo. After years of neglect a new roof has prevented additional water damage.
More than a few members of the reservation feel the building should be leveled as it evokes memories of a very dark time for native people. Others feel this tangible link to a painful period in history needs to be preserved lest we forget.
In the interim the Truxton Canyon Indian School stands along Route 66, a colorful but forgotten time capsule.



*click on photo to enlarge
All along Route 66, often within a stones throw of the iconic highway, there is a vast cornucopia of sites and attractions. When one considers the ever increasing popularity of the highway it is quite amazing how many of these remain undiscovered.
It was for that reason I penned my newest book, Route 66 Backroads.
These photos are of sites at the Airport Industrial Park in Kingman, Arizona. Few zipping along the old double six are aware that during World War II the highway cut through the middle of one of the largest flexible gunnery schools in the nation or that a surprising number of remnants remain.
Counted among these are the control tower, one of but a few from that era that remain, numerous hangers now used for a variety of purposes including a fledgling museum chronicling the history of the Kingman Army Airfield, and a multitude of concrete slabs. If at the airport entrance one turns north off Route 66 on to the dirt road they will be surprised to find pill boxes, a wide array of foundations, and roads to nowhere.

Under the control tower are two commemorative plaques. One honors those killed in a tragic bus accident at the base and the other a mid air collision during a training exercise.
In the 1950s the auxiliary field at Yucca on Route 66 was converted into a testing facility for Ford. Recently this property was upgraded and sold to Chrysler.
Near the California border a short detour from Route 66, now I40, on highway 95 provides access to Lake Havasu City. During the war this remote location was labled as Site 6, another auxiliary field and R & R center for the boys stationed in Kingman.
The next time your motoring west consider getting your kicks on, along, and just off of Route 66. After all getting there is half the fun.